The AASLH (American  Association for State and Local History) created StEPS (Standards and Excellence Program for History Organizations to encourages awareness and achievement of national standards.  It is a self-paced self-study program with six sections:

  1. Mission, Vision and Governance

  2. Audience

  3. Interpretation

  4. Stewardship of Collections

  5. Stewardship of Historic Structures and Landscapes

  6. Management

We chose to take on the Audience section first.  More information can be found by clicking the Audience link.