Friends of the Library

Friends of the Library was organized August 4, 1965 by a group of women interested in promoting library service.  Mae Saxerud was acting chairman.  The members decided to meet four times a year, on the fourth Monday of January, April, July and October at 2 p.m.  Four committees were chosen: publicity, clean up, program and membership.  Story Hour was to be started on Saturday for one hour.  Dues were $1.00 a year.  Bookmobile service was investigated at this time.

Presidents have been as follows, for one-year terms unless otherwise indicated:


Mrs. Allen Larson 1965, 1966, 1967
Mrs. Ethel Lemna 1968,1969
Mrs. Alph Overby 1970
Mrs. Carlos Eggermont 1971
Mrs. Arlo Neumiller 1972
Mrs. Vernon Knudson 1973
Mrs. Ted Stone 1974
Mrs. Dennis Fossum 1975
Mrs. Howard Brash 1976, 1977
Mrs. Robert Nelson 1978
Mrs. David Lunde 1979, 1980, 1981

Some of the things Friends of the Library have done in the past years are: serving for open houses, dusting, promoting displays, raising money for film strips and craft supplies for Story Hour, selling used books and promoting the library in the community.

The group now meets the second Monday of January, April, July and October at 2 p.m.  Membership is open to any interested person.

Source: Cooperstown, North Dakota 1882-1982 Centennial Page 235

News & Events