Chapter W of P.E.O. was organized in Cooperstown on May 21, 1936 at the home of Mrs. M.D. Westley.  Chapter M of LaMoure, the original chapter of P.E.O. in North Dakota, was the sponsor.  Charter members were:

Mrs. Westley

Mrs. L. J. Overby

Miss Mildred Udgaard

Mrs. S. H. Larson

Mrs. O. J. Thompson

Mrs. H. G. Hammer

Mrs. L. A. Sayer

Mrs. Thos. Irgens

Mrs. Gabriel Sharpe

Mrs. R. O. Miller

Mrs. Harry L. Thompson

Mrs. Westley was our first president and was elected president of the North Dakota State Chapter in 1949.

P.E.O. has several philanthropic projects.  One is the Cottey College, a junior college for girls, located in Nevada, Missouri.  Also, an Education Loan Fund, Continuing Education Fund and an International Peace Scholarship.  Three girls from Cooperstown have attended Cottey; they are, the former Marilyn Hammer, Audrey Simons and Dianne Hildre.

Chapter W was instrumental in starting the city library and still contributes $100.00 each year to it along with several other local projects that are donated to.  Each year, we also entertain our high school senior girls to a tea.

Present officers are:

Mrs. Roger Bakken, President

Mrs. Alvin Boe, Vice-President

Mrs. Arnold Sola, Receptionist & Secretary

Mrs. Alph Overby, Correspondence Secretary

Mrs. Arlo Neumiller, Treasurer

Mrs. Gary Cowdry, Chaplain

Mrs. LaVerne Larson, Guard

Source: Cooperstown, North Dakota 1882-1982 Centennial Page 241 

News & Events