The Mayors of Cooperstown


(Village government1892-1906)

Percy Trubshaw 18921
David Bartlett 1892-1894
John Syverson 1894-1895
David Bartlett 1895-1896
Samuel Sansburn 1896-1905
Lewis Berg 1905-1906


(Incorporated as city 1906)

John Syverson 1906-1909
Andrew H. Berg 1909-1913
A.M. Baldwin 1913-19172
Nels Lunde 1918-1921
H.P. Hammer 1921-1927
E.E. Downe 1927-1931
C.S. Christianson 1931-1938
P.H. Costello 1938-1942
L.A. Sayer 1942-1952
H.G. Hammer 19523
Ralph Bender 1952-1970
Leon A. Sayer, Jr. 1970


Lewis Berg and Andrew Berg were brothers.  H.P. Hammer was the father of H.G. Hammer, and L.A. Sayer the father of Leon A. Sayer, Jr.

1In the interim after village government had been approved but before officials had been elected, Percy Trubshaw was appointed to serve as mayor.

2Mayor Baldwin died in office and the position remained vacant until the next year's election.

3H.G. Hammer was appointed when L-A. Sayer resigned.

Source: Cooperstown, North Dakota 1882-1982 Centennial page 35

News & Events