Production Credit Association

The Production Credit Association of Larimore, (later to become The Production Credit Association of Grand Forks) was organized in 1934 under the Farm Credit Act enacted by Congress to provide short and intermediate term credit to farmers of the area.  The association was established with the help of Government bonds, which were repaid in full in the late 1960's.

The first annual meeting was held January 4, 1935.  Griggs and Steele counties joined the association shortly afterwards.  In 1945 the association's total loan volume was $284,875.00.

On November 1, 1981, the association had an outstanding loan balance of $144,421,449.00 serving 1721 member borrowers - of which Griggs County had $20,023,783.00 with 191 member borrowers.

Director representatives from Griggs County have been:

Reynold Retzlaff, served during the 1940's

Carl Erickson, served during the 1950's

Donald Retzlaff, served during the 1960's & 70's

Cooperstown was a contact office until association established its first branch office located in the Farmers Oil Building serving both Griggs and Steele counties.

The General Manager was H. Harlow Thompson, who is currently Senior Vice President of Association Administration at the FICB of St. Paul, Minn.  Russell J. Barr was hired as branch manager, Mary Jo Langford as office assistant.  She is currently secretary to the President of the PCA of Fargo, ND.

A new office building was constructed and opened in 1979 across from the Post Office.  The Cooperstown Office also handles 81 Agrifax (Computerized Farm Records) accounts, tax preparation, hail insurance sales, credit life insurance, federal crop insurance and disability insurance.

Present Association President is Lloyd K. Well. 

Current Directors are:

Vernon Schumacher

Raymond Driscoll

Carl Thompson Jr.

Philip Edman

Hollis Ericksrud

Marland Rue

Current Cooperstown employees:

Russ Barr Branch Manager
Stan Chaput Loan Officer
Roger Twedt Assistant Loan Officer
Caryl Bednar Office Assistant
Jo Claire Paintner Agrifax Tech
Jean Fors Office Assistant

Source: Cooperstown, North Dakota 1882-1982 Centennial Page 220 

News & Events