American Legion Auxiliary

The American Legion Auxiliary of Cooperstown was organized October 21, 1943 and the first meeting held at the Windsor Hotel with Mrs. Martin Turnquist acting as temporary chairman. The following officers were elected:

President: Lise Johnson

Vice President Nora. Frigaard

Secretary: Berniece Turnquist

Treasurer: Alma Edland

The Auxiliary has cooperated with the Legion in its projects with special emphasis on Child Welfare and Rehabilitation. A girl has been sent to Girls State since its inception.

Present officers are:

President                     Myrtle Ashland

1st Vice President       Delores Monson

2nd Vice President      Janice Hagen

Secretary                     Helen Perchert

Treasurer                     Maxine Torgerson

Historian                     Erlyn Haerter

Chaplain                      Jerry Liebl

Sgt. at arms                  Mercedes Tang

Members at Large  Marilyn Clark and Florence Thompson

Source:  Cooperstown Diamond Jubilee 1882-1957 Page 37

News & Events