Degree of Honor

Degree of Honor Lodge No. 14, designated by the name "Prairie", was granted a charter in the Dakotas, May 14, 1895 by Mrs. Kate Blewett, Grand Chief of Honor and Mrs. Minnie Clubertson under the jurisdiction of the Supreme Lodge of the Ancient Order of United Workmen and the A. O. U. W. in the Dakotas. The first officers were:

Chief of Honor - Nellie Marsh

Past Chief of Honor - Anna Syverson

Lady of Honor - Sarah Sansburn

Chief of Ceremonies - Sadie Ridgley

Recorder - Margery Hodge

Financier - Mary Blackwell

Receiver - Julia Stevens

Inside Watch - Hannah Hoggarth

Lady Usher - Maria Berg

Outside Watch - Charles Ridgley

Prairie Lodge No. 14, Cooperstown, Degree of Honor, severed its connection with the A. O. U. W. and now operate independently under the National Degree of Honor Protective Association with headquarters in St. Paul, Minnesota. In Cooperstown, the ritual and social part of the work has been dispensed with, and is strictly insurance. A Juvenile charter was granted in Prairie Lodge No. 14 on September 24, 1931.

Mrs. Lise Johnson is Financial Secretary.

Degree of Honor donates generously each year to the city library, and gave $300.00 to the Swimming Pool fund.

Source:  Cooperstown Diamond Jubilee 1882-1957 Page 35

News & Events