F. H. A.

Future Homemakers of America is a national organization of homemaking students in secondary schools. Home economics education workers from 29 states met in Chicago in March 1944 and initiated plans for the present organization.

The members are rewarded for their work by degrees of merit. There are three degrees the junior, chapter and state. The first two are conferred in the local chapter. The state degree is conferred at the state convention. In 1955 Beverly Olson was honored by receiving the state reward. She the first one to get this degree in the Cooperstown Chapter.

Present officers are. President, Judy Frigaard; Vice President, Jackualine Olson; Secretary Alice Mae Frigaard; Treasurer, JoAnn Reiten; Parliamentarian, Rita Rinehart; Chairman of degrees. Dianne Retzlaff; Chairman of Music, Patricia Rich; Chairman of Recreation, Atholie Jacobson; Chapter Club 15, the presiding officer. Mrs. Irvin Korst was Advisor, Mrs. Anna Delvo; Chapter Mothers, Mrs. H. Hildre, Mrs. G. C. Olson.

Source:  Cooperstown Diamond Jubilee 1882-1957 Page 40

News & Events